GANHRI’s membership includes 113 national human rights institutions from all four regions: 80 ‘A status’ NHRIs and 33 ‘B status’ NHRIs (as of November 2019).

The General Assembly is composed by GANHRI members and constitutes the supreme authority of the association.

The General Assembly elects two individuals, heads of ‘A’ status NHRIs, proposed by the relevant Regional Network pursuant to the rotation as the GANHRI Chairperson and the GANHRI Secretary.

GANHRI is managed by a committee entitled GANHRI Bureau which shall comprise sixteen (16) individuals, including the GANHRI Chairperson and the GANHRI Secretary.

The GANHRI Head Office is the principal office of GANHRI, located in Geneva, Switzerland at the Palais des Nations.

For the purpose of ensuring a fair balance of regional representation on GANHRI the following regions are determined and the following Regional Networks are recognized as representing the regions:

•Africa: Network of African National Human Rights Institutions (NANHRI)
•The Americas: Network of National Human Rights Institutions of the Americas(RINDHCA)
•Asia-Pacific: Asia-Pacific Forum of National Human Rights Institution (APF)
•Europe: European Network of National Human Rights Institutions(ENNHRI).

The Sub-Committee on Accreditation, is the independent body responsible for making recommendations on accreditation under the auspices of OHCHR and is formally established by the Statute as a sub-committee of the GANHRI Bureau. It is composed of four members coming from the different regions, once acting as the Chair. GANHRI and the Regional Networks also sit in the SCA, as observers.