As of April 2023, GANHRI is composed of 120 members: 88 “A” status accredited NHRIs and 32 “B” status accredited NHRIs

In accordance with the UN Paris Principles and the GANHRI Statute, the following classifications for accreditation are used by GANHRI:

A. Fully compliant with the Paris Principles;

B. Partially compliant with the Paris Principles.

*C: This category (non-member & non-compliant with the Paris Principles) was granted where the Institution was deemed to not be in compliance with the Paris Principles; it is no longer in use by GANHRI. It is maintained only for institutions that were accredited with this status before October 2007.

The number of NHRIs members have increased potentially throughout the years indicating the expanding strength, value and reliability of GANHRI’s accreditation process.

Below you will find a more detailed list of our NHRI members.


The boundaries and names shown and the designations used on this map do not imply official endorsement or acceptance by the United Nations.

CountryNational Human Rights Institution Accreditation
Asia and the Pacific
Afghanistan Independent Human Rights CommissionAccreditation suspended in July 2022 due to dissolution of the Commission
AustraliaHuman Rights CommissionA
BahrainNational Institution for Human RightsB
BangladeshNational Human Rights CommissionB
IndiaNational Human Rights CommissionA
IndonesiaIndonesia: National Commission on Human RightsA
IraqHigh Commission for Human RightsA
JordanNational Centre for Human RightsA
MalaysiaHuman Rights CommissionA
MaldivesHuman Rights CommissionB
MongoliaNational Human Rights CommissionA
MyanmarMyanmar National Human Rights Commission B
NepalNational Human Rights CommissionA
New ZealandHuman Rights CommissionA
OmanNational Human Rights Commission B
The PhilippinesCommission on Human Rights A
QatarNational Human Rights CommitteeA
Republic of KoreaNational Human Rights CommissionA
SamoaOffice of the OmbudsmanA
Sri LankaThe Human Rights CommissionB
State of PalestineIndependent Commission for Human RightsA
ThailandNational Human Rights CommissionA
Timor-LesteProvedoria for Human Rights and JusticeA
UzbekistanAuthorized Person of the Oliy Majlis of the Republic of UzbekistanB
Central Asia
KazakhstanThe Commissioner for Human RightsB
KyrgyzstanThe OmbudsmanB
TajikistanThe Human Rights OmbudsmanB
AlgeriaThe National Human Rights CouncilB
BeninCommission Béninoise des Droits de l’HommeA
BurundiCommission Nationale Indépendante des Droits de l’HommeA
CameroonNational Commission on Human Rights and FreedomsA
ChadCommission Nationale des Droits de l’Homme B
CongoCommission Nationale des Droits de l’HommeB
Côte d’IvoireCommission Nationale des Droits de l’HommeB
Democratic Republic of CongoThe National Human Rights CommissionA
EgyptNational Council for Human RightsA
EthiopiaEthiopian Human Rights CommissionA
GambiaNational Human Rights Commission of the GambiaA
GhanaCommission on Human Rights and Administrative JusticeA
KenyaNational Commission on Human RightsA
LiberiaIndependent National Commission on Human RightsA
LibyaNational Council for Civil Liberties and Human RightsB
MadagascarCommission Nationale Indépendante des Droits de l’HommeA
MalawiMalawi Human Rights CommissionA
MaliCommission Nationale des Droits de l’HommeA
MauritaniaCommission Nationale des Droits de l’HommeA
MauritiusCommission Nationale des Droits de l’HommeA
MoroccoConseil National des Droits de l’Homme A
NamibiaOffice of the OmbudsmanA
NigerCommission Nationale des Droits HumainsA
NigeriaNational Human Rights CommissionA
RwandaNational Commission for Human RightsA
SenegalComité Sénégalais de Droits de l’HommeB
Sierra LeoneHuman Rights CommissionA
South AfricaHuman Rights CommissionA
TanzaniaCommission for Human Rights and Good Governance A
TogoCommission Nationale des Droits de l’HommeA
TunisiaComité Supérieur des Drots de l’Homme et de libertés FondamentalesB
UgandaHuman Rights CommissionA
ZambiaHuman Rights CommissionA
ZimbabweHuman Rights CommissionA
ArgentinaDefensoria del PeubloA
BoliviaDefensoria del PuebloA
CanadaCanadian Human Rights CommissionA
ChileInstituto Nacional de Derechos HumanosA
ColombiaDefensoria del PuebloA
Costa RicaDefensoria de Los HabitantesA
EcuadorDefensor del PuebloA
El SalvadorProcuraduria para la Defensa de los Derechos HumanosA
GuatemalaProcuraduria para la Defensa de los Derechos HumanosA
HaitiOffice for the Protection of CitizensA
HondurasComisionado Nacional de los Derechos HumanosA
MexicoComision Nacional de los Derechos HumanosA
NicaraguaProcuraduria para la Defensa de los Derechos HumanosB
PanamaDefensoria del PuebloB
ParaguayDefensoria del PuebloSuspension Note:
The GANHRI Bureau decided to suspend the accreditation status of the Commission which resigned from the GANHRI on 10 July 2014
PeruDefensoria del PuebloA
UruguayInstitucion Nacional de Derechos Humanos y Defensoria del PuebloA
VenezuelaDefensoria del PuebloB
AlbaniaPeople’s AdvocateA
ArmeniaHuman Rights DefenderA
AustriaThe Austrian Ombudsman BoardA
AzerbaijanHuman Rights Commissioner (Ombudsman)B
BelgiumFederal Institute for the protection and promotion of Human RightsB
Belgium The Interfederal Centre for Equal Opportunity and Fight against Racism and Discrimination

Bosnia and HerzegovinaInstitute of Human Rights OmbudsmanA
BulgariaCommission for Protection against DiscriminationB
BulgariaThe OmbudsmanA
CyprusCommissioner for Administration and HumanA
DenmarkDanish Institute for Human RightsA
EstoniaChancellor of Justice of EstoniaA
FinlandFinnish National Human Rights Institution A
FranceCommission Nationale Consultative des Droits de l’HommeA
Georgia Public Defender’s OfficeA
GermanyGerman Institute for Human RightsA
GreeceNational Commission for Human RightsA
HungaryCommissioner for Fundamental RightsB
IrelandIrish Human Rights and Equality CommissionA
LatviaOmbudsman’s Office of the Republic of LatviaA
LithuaniaThe Seimas Ombudsmen’s Office of the Republic of LithuaniaA
LuxembourgCommission Consultative des Droits de l’Homme du Grand-Duché de LuxembourgA
MacedoniaOmbudsman Institution of the Republic of North MacedoniaB
MoldovaPeople’s Advocate of the Republic of MoldovaA
MontenegroProtector of Human Rights and Freedoms of MontenegroB
The NetherlandsNetherlands Institute for Human RightsA
TurkeyThe Human Rights and Equality Institution of TürkiyeB
NorwayNorwegian National Human Rights InstitutionA
PolandCommissioner for Human RightsA
PortugalProvedor de JusticiaA
Russian FederationHigh Commissioner for Human Rights of the Russian FederationA
Suspension Note:
The GANHRI Bureau decided to suspend the accreditation status. The SCA decided to initiate a special review of the Commissioner for Human Rights in its second session of 2023.
SerbiaProtector of CitizensA
SlovakiaSlovak National Centre for Human RightsB
SloveniaHuman Rights OmbudsmanA
SpainDefensor del PuebloA
SwedenThe Equality OmbudsmanB
UkraineUkrainian Parliament Commissioner for Human RightsA
Great BritainEquality and Human Rights CommissionA
Northern IrelandHuman Rights CommissionA
ScotlandScottish Human Rights CommissionA

These links are being provided as a convenience and for informational purposes only; they do not constitute an endorsement or an approval by GANHRI of any of the opinions of the organisation. GANHRI bears no responsibility for the accuracy, legality or content of the external site or for that of subsequent links. Please contact the external site for answers to questions regarding its content.