GANHRI Extraordinary General Assembly

16-17 December 2021    I    Online Voting

The GANHRI Extraordinary General Assembly (EGA), will consist in a voting to be held virtually on 16 and 17 December 2021. 

Agenda of the EGA

  • Election of the appointed Chaiperson, Defensor del Pueblo of Colombia, Dr Carlos Camargo Assis, as GANHRI Chairperson for the remaining of the term assigned to the Americas and until March 2022.
  • Election of the new GANHRI Secretary, Chairperson of the Qatar NHRC, Ms Maryam Abdullah Al Attiyah, as GANHRI Secretary for the remaining of the term assigned to the Asia Pacific and until March 2022.
  • Ratification of the new Bureau members appointed by the African regional network: Regional Chairperson, Elasto Hilarious Mugwadi (Human Rights Commission of Zimbabwe); Amina Bouayach (National Human Rights Council of Morocco); Joseph A. Whittal (Commission on Human Rights and Administrative Justice of Ghana); Mwamba Mushikonke Mwamus (Commission Nationale de Droit de l’Homme de la République Démocratique du Congo)

Format and logistics

The EGA will consist in an online voting only. The voting will take place on the online platform ElectionRunner and will be structured in the following way:

  • Thursday, 16 December: link to the voting platform received by voting members [1] (Election runner) 
  • 16-17 December: voting members can cast their vote 
  • Friday 17 December at 00:00 (CET) voting is closed

Voting members will be able to vote from any device (personal computer, smartphone, tablet). On the opening of the voting day you will receive an email with the login instructions for your voting session.

To ensure a smooth election process, we kindly ask you to indicate the email address we shall use to notify the unique link for the elections to: Joana Sabra

For more details and instructions on how to login to the voting platform, please read the attached logistic note.

[1] According to art. 1 of the GANHRI Statute, voting members are NHRIs with ‘A’ status accreditation. Please refer to GANHRI Statute.

Appointed Chairperson

Carlos Camargo Assis

Defensor del Pueblo of Colombia

Appointed Secretary

Maryam Abdullah Al Attiyah

Chairperson National Human Rights Committee of Qatar

Appointed Bureau Members

Elasto Hilarious Mugwadi (Regional Chairperson)

For more information or assistance, contact