GANHRI members elect new representatives of the Bureau

Carlos Ernesto Camargo Assis, Ombudsman of Colombia, was elected to the role of Chairperson by GANHRI members through an online voting procedure that concluded on Friday 17th. This election follows the end of Freddy Carrión Intriago’s term as Ombudsman of Ecuador and as former Chairperson of GANHRI since October 2020.

Representing the Americas region, Mr Camargo will serve as GANHRI Chairperson until the March 2022 General Assembly.

The Extraordinary General Assembly also elected Maryam Abdullah Al Attiyah, Chairperson of the National Human Rights Committee of Qatar, as the new GANHRI Secretary. She was appointed by the Asia-Pacific regional NHRI network (APF) on 14 December 2021.

Four new Bureau members designated by the African regional NHRI network (NANHRI) on 2nd of November 2021, have also been ratified during the online EGA: Elasto Hilarious Mugwadi Evaristo, Regional Chairperson (NHRI Zimbabwe), Amina Bouayach (NHRI Morocco), Joseph Whittal (NHRI Ghana) and Mwamus Mwamba (NHRI Democratic Republic of Congo).

EGA 2021